

SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES April 27, 2020 Special Organizational Meeting

Pursuant to the regulations, the special organizational Board meeting was held virtually on the above date in the Waupaca High School LMC Distance Learning Lab, via Google Meet, Live Stream, and by phone.

President's Comments and Pledge of Allegiance:

Stephen Johnson welcomed everyone and led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by President Stephen Johnson at 1:01 p.m.

Roll Call:

Present in the WHS Distance Learning Lab: Stephen Johnson. Virtually present via Google Meet: Dale Feldt, Sandra Robinson, Mark Polebitski, Betty Manion, Patrick Phair, and Steve Hackett.

Also Present:

Present in the WHS Distance Learning Lab: Ron Saari and Sandy Lucas. Virtually present via Google Meet: Carl Hayek and Steve Thomaschefsky.

Approval of Agenda:

A motion was made by Patrick Phair and seconded by Betty Manion to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Oaths of Office for Re-elected School Board Members:

Clerk Betty Manion administered the Oaths of Office to newly re-elected School Board Members Stephen Johnson and Patrick Phair. She also presented the Code of Ethics for the Board's and community's review.

Appoint Temporary Chairperson and Secretary:

Stephen Johnson appointed Ron Saari as the temporary Chairperson and Sandy Lucas as the Secretary.

Election of Officers:

A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Betty Manion to use the nominations from the floor method for electing officers. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

<u>President</u> – Dale Feldt nominated Stephen Johnson as President. Sandra Robinson seconded the nomination. Nominations were called three more times and hearing no other nominations a motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Dale Feldt to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Stephen Johnson as President. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

<u>Vice President</u> – Betty Manion nominated Patrick Phair as Vice President. Sandra Robinson seconded the nomination. Nominations were called three more times and hearing no other nominations a motion was made by Steve Hackett and seconded by Sandra Robinson to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Patrick Phair as Vice President. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

<u>Treasurer</u> – Dale Feldt nominated Sandra Robinson as Treasurer. Steve Hackett seconded the nomination. Nominations were called three more times and hearing no other nominations a motion was made by Patrick Phair and seconded by Betty Manion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Sandra Robinson as Treasurer. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

<u>Clerk</u> – Sandra Robinson nominated Betty Manion as Clerk. Dale Feldt seconded the nomination. Nominations were called three more times and hearing no other nominations a motion was made by Steve Hackett and seconded by Patrick Phair to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Betty Manion as Clerk. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Annual Appointments:

Committees:

Board President Stephen Johnson indicated that committee assignments will remain as they currently are:

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE BUILDING AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE

Betty Manion, Chairperson Steve Hackett, Chairperson

Steve Hackett Dale Feldt
Patrick Phair Sandra Robinson

FINANCE COMMITTEE INSTRUCTIONAL COMMITTEE

Sandra Robinson, Chairperson Dale Feldt, Chairperson

Dale Feldt Betty Manion Mark Polebitski Patrick Phair

POLICY COMMITTEE STUDENT SERVICES COMMITTEE

Patrick Phair, Chairperson Mark Polebitski, Chairperson

Mark Polebitski Betty Manion Sandra Robinson Steve Hackett

WASB Correspondent: Betty Manion

WASB Convention Delegate and Alternate: Patrick Phair and Betty Manion respectively.

CESA Representative: Sandra Robinson

CESA Convention Representative: Sandra Robinson

Other Organizational Meeting Business:

Resolution Establishing Regular Meeting Day, Time, and Place 042720-1:

A motion was made by Mark Polebitski and seconded by Betty Manion to approve Resolution 042720-1 establishing the 2^{nd} Tuesday at 5:15 p.m. in the Waupaca High School Community Room as the regular meeting day, time, and place. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Authorizing Investment of School District Funds 042720-2:

A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Betty Manion to approve Resolution 042720-2 authorizing investments of school district funds as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Authorizing Withdrawal 042720-3:

A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Patrick Phair to approve Resolution 042720-3 authorizing fund withdrawal as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating Legal Counsel 042720-7:

A motion was made by Mark Polebitski and seconded by Betty Manion to approve Resolution 042720-7 designating von Briesen & Roper, S.C., as legal counsel for the School District of Waupaca as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating District Auditor 042720-8:

A motion was made by Betty Manion and seconded by Sandra Robinson to approve Resolution 042720-8 designating Kerber Rose, S.C., as district auditor for all financial and enrollment audits as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Annual Designations:

Resolution Designating School District Official Publication 042720-4:

A motion was made by Steve Hackett and seconded by Mark Polebitski to approve Resolution 042720-4 designating *Waupaca County Post* as the official publication as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating Fund Balance 042720-5:

A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Betty Manion to approve Resolution 042720-5 designating fund balance as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating District Depositories 042720-6:

Mr. Johnson removed himself from this discussion. A motion was made by Steve Hackett and seconded by Betty Manion to approve Resolution 042720-6 designating district depositories as presented. The motion carried on a voice vote with Stephen Johnson abstaining.

Future Dates:

April 27, 2020 – Instructional Committee Meeting – 1:30 p.m. May 4, 2020 – School Board/CEC Governance Council Retreat – 11:00 a.m. May 12, 2020 – Regular Board Meeting – 5:15 p.m.

Adjournment:

A motion was made by Dale Feldt and seconded by Betty Manion to adjourn the meeting at 1:30 p.m. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

	Date		Date
Stephen Johnson, President Board of Education		Elizabeth Manion, Clerk Board of Education	